I don’t know how to dad today.

sleep-deprived_400x400

Did you ever have one of those mornings where you have to get up for work at 7am and then work listening to screaming children all day?

This is everyday for me.

I love my kids I really do. I want to make that clear as I complain about them for the next hundred or so words. I have 2 children who live with me. 1 who does not. We shall go into that in another post soon ;). Zachary is 2 and Myka is 6 months. They are both the best things along with their sister that has ever happened to me and has made me settle down and be better in ways I never thought possible. But then there are the mornings.

I am not a morning person. So being woken at anywhere between 5:30am and 7am is not fun for me. I do not enjoy it but such is the life of a father who gets to spend such little time with his children due to the need to work. Now Zachary is very good in the mornings at first. He stays in his bed until I come and get him and he sits on the couch watching Cbeebies for the couple of minutes it takes me to get his breakfast ready and get his dirty bum changed. Then I have my tea and we relax for a short moment until it’s as if a switch goes off in his tiny child brain telling him that someone is missing. HIS SISTER IS NOT THERE.

The alarm bells ring and suddenly Dougie and the Furchesters are forgotten for his one single mission which he has chosen to accept is to awaken the world and more importantly his sister and mother. There is no stopping this little ball of blonde hair and drive he legs it towards the stairs up them in a single bound that even superman would be proud of and into the room with a at first “sister” slowly becoming a shouting yelling “ssssssssssssssssssssssiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiissssssssssssssstttttttttttttttteeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrr”.

Meanwhile all I want to do is go back to sleep for I know that the day ahead of me is filled with just as much yelling and screaming by children and their parents who both are trying to just keep up with the other or get any from the other it’s never very clear. As I say my goodbyes at the door which this little man has opened for me I look back at his smiling cheeky face and think what will he grow into? The screaming child or the quiet peaceful child. He is the extremes of both.

My future wife has a hard task dealing with them both all day and I do not give her half the credit she deserves for this monumental task. What I can do is try to keep the little ball of energy calm for as long as possible in the mornings and evenings so she can have some rest. Then once the kids depart for night night land daddy can retire for the night. Hang up his daddy boots and put on his I gonna murder some Orcs boots.

Some time I do not wanna dad the day but hell the smiles and cuddles are all worth it.

About ravon1981

Active WoW players for 3 years on my warrior Human Ravonbrand on Emerald Dream EU

Posted on November 17, 2016, in Latest News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I have a similar age gap and it’s bloody hard when they are small but mornings get easier, the older one here can now put cereal in a bowl for the mornings that I just can’t even lol every little helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

